Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
  • Article Image Alt Text

Ellis County added to federal disaster declaration

Homeowners, renters now eligible for help

Ellis County is one of three Texas counties added to the federal disaster declaration following the severe storms and flooding that began April 26.

Ellis County is one of 35 counties qualifing for the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s individual assistance program, allowing homeowners and renters to apply for aid.

“Today’s approval of three more Texas counties for the Federal Disaster Declaration will help ensure communities affected by recent severe weather have the assistance they need to rebuild and recover,”  Gov. Greg Abbott said in a Saturday news release. 

“I thank our federal partners and emergency response personnel across our great state who are working tirelessly to protect and support their fellow Texans. 

‘Texas will continue to provide every necessary resource to regions across the state who are recovering from these storms.” 

The individual assistance program provides funding for expenses such as temporary housing; emergency home repairs; uninsured and underinsured personal property losses; disaster legal services; disaster unemployment assistance; and medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster.

To apply for the aid, homeowners and renters can visit, download the FEMA app for mobile devices or call the FEMA helpline at (800) 621-3362 between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.




• Proof of insurance coverage (Declaration Page).

• Copy of your insurance settlement pertaining to damage caused by the storms.

• Proof of identity (U.S. passport, military I.D., motor vehicle registration, Social Security card along with a federal or state I.D., a payroll stub that shows all or part of your Social Security number).

• Proof of occupancy (lease or rental agreement, rent receipts, utility bills, motor vehicle registration). FEMA has provided more ways to meet this requirement.

• Proof of ownership (deed or title, mortgage documentation, homeowner’s insurance policy, property tax bill or receipt, manufactured home certificate or title and home purchase contracts). FEMA has provided more ways to meet this requirement.

• Proof the damaged property was your primary residence when the disaster occurred.


If you have questions about FEMA’s decision letter, you can visit a Disaster Recovery Center or call the Disaster Assistance Helpline at (800) 621-3362, open seven days a week from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. CT.

Ellis County Press

208 S Central St. 
Ferris, TX 75125