Home | News | Community | North Central Texas Council of Governments Bestows Awards at 44th annual meeting

North Central Texas Council of Governments Bestows Awards at 44th annual meeting

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font


Established in 1986, this award is presented each year to an outstanding woman in public management who exemplifies the high standards represented by Linda Keithley during her seventeen years with the Council of Governments.

The award is designed to recognize service as a public management professional through dedicated performance; service to the public management profession through active participation; and service to the community through civic, church, and charity activities.


Established in 1993 to recognize the commitment to regionalism advocated by NCTCOG’s former executive director Bill Pitstick, this award honors an individual who supports strong local government as the basis for democracy, who recognizes that urban challenges and concerns often cross jurisdictional boundaries and who promotes coordination and cooperation among citizens and local elected officials.

REGIONAL COOPERATION AWA-RD. Created in 1996, this award jointly recognizes two or more local governments for outstanding acts of cooperation.

The award honors local governments who promote coordination and cooperation to solve regional problems, who do not allow jurisdictional boundaries to be barriers to solutions to those problems, and who demonstrate that joint projects often can provide better use of resources as well as high quality service.

The cities of Cedar Hill, DeSoto, Duncanville and Lancaster (pictured below) received this year’s Regional Cooperation Award.

The cities were recognized for their ability to partner together on multiple joint cost-saving public safety services.

The cities jointly share and provide a regional Tri-City Dispatch Center; a Regional Jail; a Tri-City Animal Shelter; a Regional Firearms Training Facility; Regional Emergency Management; and Regional Fire Protection Services. Melissa Stephens, Assistant City Manager in the city of Cedar Hill, nominated the cities.

The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) is a voluntary association of local governments (counties, cities, school districts, special districts) established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and recognizing regional opportunities for improving the quality of life for the citizens of North Central Texas.

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:


Log in

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Nelson Propane

Tagged as:

No tags for this article

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.5.2