Home | News | Community | B. Glen Whitley Elected President of the North Central Texas Council of Governments Executive Board

B. Glen Whitley Elected President of the North Central Texas Council of Governments Executive Board

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

At the 44th annual meeting of the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) on Friday, June 18, member governments elected a new executive board, which will be chaired by B. Glen Whitley, County Judge in Tarrant County. Judge Whitley was elected Tarrant County Commissioner in 1996, representing the northeast portion of the county. He has been Tarrant County Judge since 2006.

Judge Whitley brings many years of service to the Council of Governments and has served as a Director and Secretary/Treasurer before his election in 2009 as COG’s Vice President. In addition, he is a regional and state leader on matters regarding efficiently run government, transportation, sustainable communities, air quality and youth and children’s issues.

Five new members — Grand Prairie Mayor Pro Tem, Ron Jensen; Wise County Judge, Bill McElhanney; Cory Spillman Councilmember in Cedar Hill; Grapevine Mayor Pro Tem C. Shane Wilbanks; and Mayor Pro Tem Holly Gray-McPherson from the city of Roanoke — were also elected to the NCTCOG Executive Board. Members rotating off the Board were Kelly Walker, former mayor pro tem from the city of University Park; Commissioner John Matthews from Johnson County; Allen Harris, councilmember from the city of The Colony; Sheri Capehart, councilmember from the city of Arlington; and John Murphy, councilmember from the city of Richardson.

NCTCOG’s 2009– 2010 President, Bobby Waddle, former mayor in the city of DeSoto, presided over the General Assembly and the program included election of officers and directors to NCTCOG’s 2010 - 2011 executive board; presentation of three regional awards: The Linda Keithley Award for Women in Public Management, The William J. Pitstick Regional Excellence Award, and The Regional Cooperation Award. The featured speaker for the afternoon was Dr. Charles Sawyer, Professor of Economics at Texas Christian University.

NCTCOG’s executive board has 13 members – all local elected officials in North Central Texas.

The board is the policy approval body for all activities of the North Central Texas Council of Governments.

Executive Board,  2010 - 2011

North Central Texas Council of Governments

Officers: Directors:
B. Glen Whitley Carter Burdette
County Judge, Tarrant County Councilmember, city of Fort Worth
Vice President Steve Terrell
Linda Koop Mayor, city of Allen
Councilmember, city of Dallas  
Ron Jensen  
Secretary-Treasurer Mayor Pro Tem, city of Grand Prairie
Bobbie Mitchell  
Commissioner, Denton County Bill McElhanney
  County Judge, 
  Wise County
Past President  
Bobby Waddle Cory Spillman
Former Mayor, city of DeSoto Councilmember, 
  city of Cedar Hill
Directors: Holly Gray
Maurine Dickey Mayor Pro Tem, 
Commissioner, Dallas County city of Roanoke
  C. Shane Wilbanks
John Horn Mayor Pro Tem, 
County Judge, Hunt County city of Grapevine

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:


Log in

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Nelson Propane

Tagged as:

No tags for this article

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.5.2