Home | News | Community | Education: Go Get It! week contest winners go to college

Education: Go Get It! week contest winners go to college

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

DESOTO — During Education: Go Get It! week from March 8-12 student’s learned extensively about higher education and careers from guest speakers, college representatives and other activities including an essay contest for elementary and middle schools.

The top campus winners for the essay contest detailing why each student wants to go to college, won them a trip to Southern Methodist University in Dallas for a campus tour and interaction with collegiate students, including several graduates from DeSoto High School.

After boarding the bus at their school, 38 students and chaperones headed for the SMU campus on Friday, April 23!

Upon arrival, they were greeted by DHS alum, SMU senior and DeSoto ISD Board Member Warren Seay, Jr. at the campus cafeteria.

Seay will graduate this May Summa Cum Laude and was also recently named the SMU 2010 Man of the Year.

He is considering pursuing a law degree from SMU starting in the fall.

Students were treated to college dining in the new facility that has food stations including a pasta bar, sautéed fish, organic foods and home cooking as well as burgers, pizza and fries!

Joined by several SMU students including DHS alum and SMU student Jordan Johansen, DeSoto kids asked about living on campus, classes and being away from home.

After the wonderful meal, the group joined SMU tour guide Taylor Foran for a walk about campus.

Students asked questions about the facilities and college life while taking in the magnificent campus.

Students were impressed by the library, stadium and Dedman Center student activity building which included a rock climbing wall, basketball courts and indoor and outdoor pools.

In all, students were able to see firsthand an afternoon in college life!

DeSoto ISD plans to continue opening doors to students through college visits.

Special thanks to chaperones: Jacquline Rasheed, Brenda Camp, Cecelia Hurley, Tam-mee Sandles, Cicely Ham, and organizer Debbye Garner. Also to our SMU student guides: Warren Seay Jr., Yahshen McShan, Jordan Johansen, Cornell Lacy and Taylor Foran.

Student essay winners: Amber Terrace: Bryson Jackson, Keyeria Tyeskie, Cesar Castillo, Johnny Nguyen, Faith Evans And Jennifer Paramo; Cockrell Hill: Garrett Smith, Jared Fletcher and Zy’jae Ridley; Moates: Janya Mann and Keviana Abraham; Ruby Young: Brendon Camp, Lauryn Hubbard and Kenneth Malone; Woodridge: Jabari Beasley, Marsalis Holloway and Kapri Halton; Northside: Sidney Mclaurin, Jasmine Willis and Micah Withers; East MS: Maddison Claybon, Everett Johnson and Dorie Gale; West MS: Jessica Thomas, Maya Rollerson, Darrell Augustus, Keirra Sneed, Eric Mcmillian, Tierra Murrell, Nicholas Orr, Wesley Runnels and Alessia Campbell; McCowan MS: Chase Brackens, Lauren Keeling, Nick Turner, Adriana Sianez, Jerry Mendoza and Sarah Sandoval.

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:


Log in

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

No tags for this article

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.5.2