Down Range: Shooting Tips and Events
Texas Hunters Education Training Certification
Deer season is around the corner and this week I would like to talk about the Texas Hunters Education Training Certification that is required by every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, or be accompanied while hunting. Minimum age of certification is nine years of age.
Accompanied means: While hunting, by a person who is at least 17, who is licensed to hunt in Texas, who has passed hunter education or is exempt (born before Sept. 2, 1971), and you must be within normal voice control. Proof of certification or deferral is required to be on your person while hunting. Note: Certification is not required to purchase a hunting license.
Please note that some federally controlled areas require all hunters using that site to have hunter education certification. In Texas, this includes Corps of Engineers property and most military reservations. Be sure to check with the specific area prior to going hunting.
Hunter Education provides instruction in Texas hunting regulations, wildlife management and identification, conservation, ethics, firearm and hunting safety and responsibility, and outdoor skills. This course is particularly suited to novice or young hunters. All materials are provided and subjects are covered in depth to enable the student to successfully complete the Hunter Education certification process.
The traditional hunter education course averages 14 hours of instruction over two or more days. The cost is $15. Courses are offered across the state throughout the year and are taught by certified volunteer instructors. You need to make a reservation with the instructor to attend a course. Check with the instructor for directions and any special instructions prior to going to class.
Online Study plus One-day Field Course Option: This course is primarily for the adult hunter who has been shooting and hunting for a number of years. Take advantage of your years of experience and knowledge to enable you to successfully complete the online homework assignment and field course activities. There are several ways to take part of your Hunter Education course online. All online study options require you to complete a one-day field course ($15) to complete your certification
One-day Field Course
You will be required to bring your quiz results from the TPWD or IHEA course to gain entry into the Field Course, or upon successful completion of the Today’s Hunter online work (a $15 fee is required) you must bring the Field Day Qualifier Exam Certificate to gain entry to the Field Course and final exam. No matter which option you choose, you must still attend the one-day Field Course testing to receive your final certification.
The required One-Day Field Course includes a skills trail, live firing exercise, ethics presentation, review and final exam. The field course is typically 4 to 6 hours. You must pre-register for this course with the instructor.
Information in this article was obtained from the Texas Parks and WildlLife Website: ww.tpwd.state.tx.us - If you live in the Ellis County Area and would like more information, you can contact TPW Hunter Education Instructor Tom Coppock at 972-571-4275.
White-Feather is Director of the U.S. Small Arms Training School, www.ussmallarms.com, and a currant Police Officer / Trainer for the Sovereign Cherokee Nation of Tejas.
For comments, suggestions for articles, email: firstname.lastname@example.org.