Home | News | Community | DeSoto ISD Education Foundation holds 11th Annual Drive Kick-off Luncheon

DeSoto ISD Education Foundation holds 11th Annual Drive Kick-off Luncheon

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

DESOTO — On Thursday, Nov. 11, the DeSoto ISD Education Foundation hosted the 11th Annual Drive Kick-off Luncheon at the DeSoto Town Center. The event allows the foundation to honor and recognize major donors and thank them for their contributions. Education Foundation President Nona Eath welcomed guests and introduced Board Member Curtistene McCowan, who led the invocation and Board Member Warren Adams, who led the pledge. DeSoto ISD Superintendent Lloyd Treadwell brought greetings from the district and then East MS Principal Donna Blackburn and Freshman Campus Principal Shelia Brown spoke about the impact of their 2009 grants of student learning.

Board Member Dan Burnam introduced guest speaker Bridgette Fountain, a 2006 DeSoto High School graduate who earned the Commended Scholar award in the National Achievement Scholarship Program, who recently graduated from Spelman College with a Bachelors Degree in Biology.

Fountain spoke of how the leadership skills she gained at DeSoto High School guided her through college. She was inducted into both Beta Kappa Chi (Science Honor Society) and Alpha Epsilon Delta (Premedical Honor Society) at Spelman and was co-founder of the Spelman College Chapter of Operation Smile, the first chapter at a historically black college or university.

Fountain is now matriculating through a master’s program in biology at The University of Texas at Dallas to pursue her dreams of going to medical school and becoming a reconstructive surgeon.

Board Members Warren Adams and Gloria Mays then recognized lead donors from the previous year:

Ambassador Partner

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Royal Diamond Partner

Bronze Partners


The Education Foundation was created to support the education programs for both the students and staff personnel of DeSoto ISD, presented grants totaling more than $31,400 this past spring to classroom teachers for innovative teaching grants.

On behalf of the officers and board of directors, Ms. Eath expressed thanks and gratitude to the community, businesses, individuals and civic organizations for their ongoing support to the foundation.

– Cadence McShane, Carl & Joyce Williams, Chick-Fil-A, Curtis Mechanical Contractors, Dallas Black Fire Fighters Association, D.K. Haney Roofing, HomeCare Management, Parsons Commercial Roofing, Ruben Esquivel, Richard Harrington, RLK Engineering, Southwest Securities
– Atmos Energy, Concerned DeSoto Citizens, Linebarger Goggan Blair & Sampson, PBK Architects, Oncor Electric, The Rehab Group
– DeSoto Economic Development Corporation
– DeSoto ISD Teachers and Staff
– Levine’s Department Stores
– Bank of DeSoto

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:


Log in

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

No tags for this article

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.5.2