Home | News | Free training series on public and private benefits

Free training series on public and private benefits

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

October 3, 2009 – The North Central Texas Council of Governments’  Area Agency on Aging is offering a free training series on public and private benefits. Training topics include Medicare, Medicaid, and federal and state assistance programs. Targeting aging advocates, the series of three sessions will equip participants to complete applications for Medicaid programs, Medicare Savings Programs and Medicare Part D.

The training series will be held on three consecutive Fridays, beginning Nov. 6, continuing on Nov. 13, and concluding on Nov. 20.

All sessions will be held from 9:45 a.m. to 4 p.m. , at BaylorWorx, 507 N. Highway 77, Suite 700, Waxahachie.

Classes are open to the public, and free social work continuing education units will be available for social workers who attend all three sessions.

NCTCOG is conducting local training as a means of expanding its outreach to Ellis County residents, with emphasis on those who qualify for Medicare low-income subsidies and need assistance in accessing the benefits.

It’s particularly interested in increasing the number of certified volunteer benefits counselors in the greater Waxahachie area.

Explains staff benefits counselor Marta Hiegel, “We know that a lot of people qualify for various benefits but haven’t applied because they’re not aware of the programs or can’t fill out the paperwork on their own. We’d really like to equip Waxahachie-area residents to partner with us in getting the message to people where they are—at church, at the library, at the community center.”

For more information or to register for benefits training, please contact Jan Henning, Area Agency on Aging, NCTCOG, at 1-800-272-3921 extension 7197or E-mail at jhenning@nctcog.org or contact Pat Borgfeldt at (817) 360-0984 for more information.

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments
NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG’s purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint decisions.

NCTGOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered around the two urban areas of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 233 member governments, including 16 counties, 165 cities, 23 school districts, and 29 special districts.

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:


Log in

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

No tags for this article

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.5.2