Home | News | County officials sworn in Jan. 1

County officials sworn in Jan. 1

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

Diana Buckley

Ellis County Communications


WAXAHACHIE – District Judge Gene Knize, 40th District , presided over swearing-in ceremonies, issuing oaths of office to the following officials, elected in November 2008: Ben Fry, constable, pct. 1; Jimmie Ray, constable, pct. 3; Mike Jones, constable, pct. 4; Judy Burden, treasurer, unexpired term; John Bridges, tax assessor-collector; Dennis Robinson, commissioner, pct. 1; Heath Sims, commissioner, pct. 3; Johnny Brown, sheriff; Joe Grubbs, county and district attorney; and Greg Wilhelm, judge, county court at law, unexpired term.

Appointed officials also sworn in this morning were County Auditor Mike Navarro, and assistant county auditors Cheryl Chambers, Beth Allen, Linda Lake, Misty Hudson, Teral Crawford, Jocelyn King and Matt Edington.

Constable Terry Nay, pct. 2, and District Judge Al Scoggins, were unavailable for the ceremonies and took their oaths of office at another time.

"I wish all of you a controversy-free term of office," quipped Knize, who earlier took time out to explain a few particulars of his office to the young people among the audience.

"It won’t happen – but I wish it anyway."

Shortly after the swearing-in ceremony was concluded, the Ellis County Commissioners’ Court convened for a short meeting to approve the necessary bonds for Navarro, Fry, Nay, Ray, Jones, Robinson, Dodson, Sims, Bridges, Brown, Grubbs and Wilhelm, as well as Elections Administrator Jane Anderson.

Newly-elected Sheriff Johnny Brown then issued an oath of office to his deputies.

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:


Log in

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

No tags for this article

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.5.2