Home | News | Voters keep Grubbs

Voters keep Grubbs

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

The Ellis County Press
– County Attorney Joe Grubbs, whose office has been mired in allegations of corruption on the front page of The Ellis County Press the past five weeks, was overwhelmingly put back into office Tuesday, March 4, sealing a 68 percent victory over Red Oak attorney Rodney Pat Ramsey, who received 31 percent of the vote.

The race to replace Sheriff Ray Stewart will be heading to an April 8 run-off, as top vote-getter Johnny Brown of Midlothian (38 percent) squares off against James Ledb-etter (32 percent).

The third candidate in the race, Steve McKinney, finished third with 29 percent of the vote.

The winner of the sheriff’s run-off will face Libertarian Mike Treis in November.

Republicans and Democrats will have another run-off in the Precinct 1 commissioner’s race and Palmer will be a focal point in both contests.

Incumbent Commissioner Dennis Robinson, seeking his second term, faces off against his friend and fellow Palmer resident David Land on April 8, with the winner to face the victor in the Democrats’ run-off between Waxahachie’s Brode-rick Sargent and Pal-mer’s Michael Heard.

Both Democrats, according to The Dallas Morning News earlier in the campaign, owe $25,000 in back property taxes (Sargent) and $7,000 to the IRS (Heard).

Land (29 percent; 410 votes) and Robinson (47 percent; 660 votes) made the run-off when neither candidate – including third-place finisher Bob Polley (22 percent; 309 votes) – secured more than 51 percent.

Heard (29 percent; 668 votes) and Sargent (49 percent; 1,149 votes) faced Raymond Paige (21 percent; 501 votes).

GOP Commissioner Precinct 3
I-Heath Sims – 66%
(2,569 votes)
Brian Thompson – 33% (1,318)

Constable – Precinct 1
I-Ben Fry – 52% (1,153)
Jim Pharr – 47% (1,045)
Constable – Precinct 4
Mike Jones – 55% (2,458)
Kyle Neal – 44% (1,970)

GOP Chair
Nelson Baird – 39% (3,677)
Wayne Turner – 32% (3,037)
Alan Gell – 27% (2,579)
Precinct 111 Chair
I-Don Wilson – 66% (175)
Randy Chase – 33% (87)

Precinct 137
I-Jack Hood – 54% (238)
Mark Bainter – 45% (198)
Constable – Precinct 3
I-Jimmie Ray – 62% (784)
Tyron Davis – 37% (473)

Note: Last week, Turner dropped out of the GOP chair race, thereby solidifying Baird as the next Republican chairman.

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:


Log in

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Nelson Propane

Tagged as:

No tags for this article

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.5.2