Drive, Drink, Go to Jail
By 07/03/2003 00:00:00
The Ellis County Press
ELLIS COUNTY - State and local law enforcement officials will be cracking down on drunk drivers during the Fourth of July holiday.
The Drink, Drive, Go to Jail campaign sponsored by the Texas Department of Transportation began June 27 and will run through July 13.
'Our message to all drivers is simple and direct: If you drink and drive, you will go to jail,' said Carlos Lopez, Texas Department of Transportation Director of Traffic Operations 'Safe alternatives to getting behind the wheel if you've had anything to drink are to designate a sober driver before drinking begins, call a taxi or just stay where you can drive home safely.'
A first time DWI offense includes fines of $2,000, three days to six months in jail and a suspension of the person's driver license for 90 days to a year.
The state's legal limit for intoxication is .08 blood alcohol concentration.
Radio and television ads in English and Spanish will target men between 21 years old and 34 years old.
According to TxDOT research has shown people in this age group are more likely to drink and drive.