Home | News | Ellis County declared disaster area

Ellis County declared disaster area

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

WAXAHACHIE - In wake of June's flooding, Ellis County has been declared a disaster area eligible for $350,000 in federal funds.

'Many of our citizens experienced some loss during the recent heavy rains and flooding,' said Ellis County Judge Al Cornelius, who was authorized by the Commissioners Court to apply for the assistance. Judge Cornelius urges those residents to check with the U.S. Small Business Administration for relief.

For more information or to apply for an SBA disaster loan, call 1-800-366-6303. The SBA's Disaster Area 3 office is in Fort Worth at 4400 Amon Carter Blvd., Suite 102.

The disaster loans are for physical damage and economic injury caused by the June 3-4 storms that dumped more than 11 inches of rain. Interest rates vary from 4 to 8 percent, depending if applicants have credit available elsewhere.

Loan application deadlines are August 18 for physical damage and March 19, 2001, for economic injury. After an on-site inspection to determine the cost of repairing or replacing disaster-damaged property, a loan decision will be reached within seven to 20 days of receiving a completed loan application.

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:


Log in

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

No tags for this article

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.5.2