Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

Texas Silver-Haired Legislature is a non-partisan statewide body of dedicated persons (60 years of age and older) elected to draft proposed legislation on aging issues.

Legislative issues developed by the TSHL are presented for active consideration as bills to the Texas Legislature. Silver-Haired Legislators are elected for two-year terms, with the election held in 2011.

The electoral process for the eleventh Texas Silver-Haired Legislature in the counties of Collin, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell and Wise will be coordinated by the North Central Texas Council of Governments Area Agency on Aging. 

This 14-county region is divided into five election districts with one representative from each district to be elected to serve in the TSHL. 

The five districts are:

District 1:          Denton and Wise counties

District 2:          Collin, Hunt, Kaufman and Rockwall Counties

District 3:          Ellis, Navarro, and Johnson Counties

District 4:          Erath, Hood, Palo Pinto, Parker and Somervell counties

District 5:          At Large


Any Texan 60 years of age or older on Jan. 1, 2011, and a registered voter living in the area where candidacy is sought may run for the Texas Silver-Haired Legislature. 

Those persons wishing to run for office must file petitions for candidacy (with a $5.00 filing fee) with the North Central Texas Area Agency on Aging by Feb. 28, 2011

To file, prospective candidates must have signatures from at least 25 registered voters age 60 and older who support their candidacy and who reside in their election district.  Election Day is Tuesday, May 24, 2011.



Candidacy forms, petitions and information regarding the TSHL are available by calling 1-800-272-3921 or by emailing mhensley@nctcog.org .


The area agencies located in Dallas and Fort Worth are coordinating TSHL activities in Dallas County and Tarrant County respectively.  For information, residents of Tarrant County should call (817) 258-8080, and Dallas County residents should call (214) 871-5065.


What is NCTCOG?


The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) is a voluntary association of local governments (counties, cities, school districts, and special districts) established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and recognizing regional opportunities for improving the quality of life for the citizens of North Central Texas.

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (1 posted)

Curtis Beard 05/15/2011 12:58:53
Have tried e-mailing and using the hyperlink, but no connection to mhensley@nctcog.org. Cannot connect either way.
total: 1 | displaying: 1 - 1

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:


Log in

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

No tags for this article

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.5.2