Home | News | Wilson appointed as new County and District Attorney

Wilson appointed as new County and District Attorney

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

Wilson appointed as new County and District Attorney


            In a special meeting on Friday, December 17, Ellis County Commissioners appointed Patrick Wilson of Waxahachie to the office of County and District Attorney.  The appointment was made necessary by the recent gubernatorial appointment of Joe Grubbs to the bench of the 378th District Court.  Grubbs will replace Judge Al Scoggins, recently elected to the 10th Court of Appeals.

            “The Commissioners’ Court is charged with the responsibility of appointing this position when a vacancy is created,” said County Judge Carol Bush.  “It is a serious responsibility.  If we could open it up to an electoral process, we would, but the law says it is our responsibility; there is no choice in the matter.”

            Bush thanked all three of the candidates that had come forward for the job.

            “We had three very qualified candidates, all three having various strengths that would have brought a nice dimension to the office in different aspects – so it’s a tough decision to make,” she said, noting the Court had received a great deal of much-appreciated input from members of the public.  “Believe me, I know it’s a very difficult thing to put yourself out there – you make yourself vulnerable. It’s an admirable thing that there are people willing to step up.”

            Commissioner Heath Sims, pct. 3, cast the only dissenting vote.

            Wilson has served as Assistant County and District Attorney for Ellis County since 1999. A graduate of Texas A&M University, he earned his Juris Doctorate from Texas Tech University School of Law in May of 1997 and was admitted to the State Bar of Texas later that same year. 

            Wilson’s community involvement includes service on a number of boards such as the Salvation Army Advisory Council, the United Way of West Ellis County, First United Methodist Church of Waxahachie Administrative Board, and the Bureau of Justice Assistance Grant Program with the Waxahachie Police Department.  He is a member of the Waxahachie Lions Club, an alumni of Leadership Waxahachie, and a volunteer for the Children’s Advocacy Center, Gingerbread Trail, and the Candlelight Tour of Homes.  He is a well-received member of the After Hours Improv professional comedy troupe.

            A native of Waxahachie, Wilson is a graduate of Waxahachie High School and fifth generation resident of Ellis County.  He and his wife, Becky, have one son, Oliver.

            Although it was not discussed during Friday’s meeting, County officials would like the public to know that Ellis County will hold a swearing-in ceremony on Saturday, January 1, 2011 at 10 a.m. in the second floor courtroom of the Historic Courthouse in downtown Waxahachie.  Senior State District Court Judge Gene Knize will officiate.

            Knize chose not to run for re-election and is leaving office after six terms as 40th District Judge and over 40 years of service to Ellis County.

            Judge Al Scoggins, currently serving as 378th District Judge, will also be sworn in as Justice, 10th Court of Appeals.  He is the first elected Justice to the Court of Appeals from Ellis County.    Scoggins has provided over 27 years of service to the citizens of Ellis County and has been Judge of the 378th District Court since 1995.

            Officials taking the oath during the ceremony will include both newly elected and re-elected county officials as well as appointed officials, in the following order:

            Mike Navarro, County Auditor

            Bill Woody, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1

            Jackie Miller, Jr., Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2

            Curtis Polk, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3

            Steve Egan, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 4

            Cheryl Chambers, County Treasurer

            Cindy Polley, County Clerk

            Melanie Reed, District Clerk

            Bill Dodson, County Commissioner, Precinct 2

            Ron Brown, County Commissioner, Precinct 4

            Carol Bush, County Judge

            Jim Chapman, County Court at Law #1

            Gene Calvert, County Court at Law #2

            Al Scoggins, 10th Court of Appeals

            Joe Grubbs, 378th District Court

            Patrick Wilson, County Attorney

            Bob Carroll, 40th District Court


Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:


Log in

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

No tags for this article

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.5.2